GCSE Options 2024

English Baccalaureate

The English Baccalaureate (Ebacc) is a combination of subjects the Government believes provides a broad and balanced curriculum.   To achieve the Ebacc pupils must attain at least grade 5 in the following subjects:

The Ebacc subjects

  • English language and English literature
  • mathematics
  • the sciences
  • geography or history
  • a language

Pupils at Holy Cross will all take GCSE English language, English literature, mathematics, the sciences, whether separate sciences or combined.  During Year 9 pupils will make informed choices as to which other subjects they wish to continue studying at KS4.

Curriculum Structure 2023-24 KS4 only

Below is an introduction from Mr Morris on the options process along with some guidance to help select the courses that are right for each pupil.

Introduction – Mr Morris

Art and Design – Miss Nelson

Computer Science and Creative iMedia – Mr Washington

Food Technology – Mr Callander

Geography – Miss McFarland

History – Mr Murray

Modern Languages – Mrs Gaughan

PE – Miss Dent

Performing Arts (Music and / or Drama) – Mrs Harrison and Mrs Chapman-Dean

Product Design – Miss Moore

© Holy Cross Catholic High School, 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Website by CG Design